Look to the sky to see a blood red supermoon

Adjust Comment Print

Skywatchers are gearing up for a lunar eclipse, which some are referring to as a "super blood wolf moon". The event will be visible throughout North America, assuming the weather doesn't block the view.

There will be a total eclipse of the moon Sunday night across the United States and while there is no guarantee the clouds will clear out in time for us to see it, it is a possibility.

The full effect of the blood moon will begin to be seen here at about at around 12:41 a.m., however effects of the event can be seen hours before.

If that wasn't enough, the eclipse will be made even more spectacular by the fact that it will be accompanied by a "super blood wolf moon".

This was the first of two total lunar eclipses in 2014.

Total lunar eclipse: Super Wolf Blood Moon visible in the Netherlands
In the USA , the eclipse will begin relatively early Sunday evening, making it easier for children to stay up and enjoy the show. The "wolf" part is said to originate from a Native American tradition of referring to January's full moon as the Full Wolf Moon.

The total phase of the eclipse will be visible from the Western Hemisphere, Europe and the western part of Africa, as well as from northern Russian Federation.

The full lunar eclipse will start at 8:41pm PT on January 20 (4:41am GMT, January 21 or 10:11am IST, January 21) and end at 9:43pm PT (5:43am GMT or 11:13am IST).

Partial lunar eclipses also often take place, in which the Earth only obscures part of the sun's light from hitting the moon.

"We usually only get the chance to see one or two per year-special reminders of our place in the Universe". "This is why we don't have a lunar eclipse every month". The Earth's shadow is much larger than the moon, and Aristarchus of Samos was able to approximate the distance to the moon and the sun using eclipses like this. Higher frequencies at the blue end of the spectrum get absorbed completely in the atmosphere, but red light can pass through and reach the moon.

This weekend, the partial eclipse will begin at 10:33 p.m. ET.

India win toss, bowl in MCG ODI decider
Kuldeep Yadav has been rested with legspinner Yuzvendra Chahal taking his place while Kedar Jadhav replaces Ambati Rayudu. So who will clinch the deciding match and win the series? When to Watch IND vs AUS 3rd ODI 2019, Live Action?

This isn't just any lunar eclipse; three phenomenon are converging to make this the most heavy-metal-album-sounding eclipse possibly ever. During those hours, the moon will be blood red but also so dim it might be hard to spot among the inky blackness of space.

"Surprisingly emotional experience being under totality like that", Sorin said about his photo of The Great American Solar eclipse in 2017. Areas free of ground lighting provide the best look, since the stars that pop into view will be more visible.

Viewing is likely to be easier earlier in the eclipse as from around 5am the Moon will be starting to head lower in the western sky. The third class - penumbral eclipses - are hard to see.

The moon is then "Super" because it is at its closest point to Earth.

Hladiuk says Sunday's show will be the last one for some time, so he encourages everyone to go out and try to get a look.

Australian Open - Win over Eugenie Bouchard a reminder of Serena's longtime dominance
She's got her ranking up to No. 79 in the world and it's going to go up from here". The other was that she started winning matches again at lower-level tournaments.

Comments